How to Handle Writer’s Block

Most of us taking this course are writers, or will at least have to act like we are for the sake of this blog. Being one of the first people to post for the semester, I thought that I had all the options. But, like most writers fear time and time again, I got writer’s block. Surely, all or most of you know what writer’s block is; When a writer simply can’t bring themselves to write no matter what the reason may be. They choke up, they stare at their blank word document and they think endlessly of how to fill that page.

Hopefully, with this post you’ll be able to read up on some circumstances and tips that should keep you from falling down that dark hole of inspiration-less, hopeless writing endeavors. First problem that we usually face, especially with writing a blog is not knowing what to write about. You’re stumped. What do you write about? Do you share a story that somehow teaches a lesson in the end? Do you just pick one of the topics that Sarah put on the back of our blog sheets? What if you don’t like them, what if you can’t connect? Well, to all of those questions, here is my advice:

Do some writing exercises. I know you just want to get the post finished, but taking even five minutes to practice a ‘how-to-do’ something or a scene of an event that happened to you today or yesterday or last week. It seems pointless, but often once we get started with something small it gets us thinking of a million other things that could ignite a spark in your brain that is desperate to fill the page. If that’s not working and you really got a bad case of the inspiration-less blues, Google it. Seriously, google writing ideas or writing advice or social media stuff. Whatever topic sort of calls your name out the loudest and read up on the content for ten minutes. Surely, you’ll leave one of those pages with an idea or two that you can expand on.

Now, we all know that writer’s block doesn’t just mean that we can’t think of anything to write about, but maybe we do and it peters out too short. You lose the commitment, like a childhood crush gone wrong. My best experiences with this awful predicament is to throw those ideas out the window. It is better to find something that you can talk about forever then to force the same idea in a different way in every paragraph, leaving your reader to skim and become bored. Though this is easier said than done, don’t stress, give yourself some time to think. It isn’t a bad thing to step away from your work. That is unless it is due in an hour, then you might be screwed my friend. If worse comes to worst, try thinking of ways to mend those multiple ideas you have together to make a full piece. If you can’t fill the writing with one, incorporate the others and make your idea bigger!

Okay, so maybe by now you have this idea and you’re writing and writing and you feel like you could actually finish this post. You’re literally over half-way through the word count requirement and bam! You are hit with the loss of thought. You can’t go on. You fear that you may have to start all over, again. Don’t. A lot of writers make it so far then once they’ve stopped, they fear it might be all over. It’s not, in fact, it is normal. Mark Twain spent months stuck in the middle of Huckleberry Finn before he decided that Huck and Jim would take the wrong river and end up on a different path. Now, we’re not spending months on these pieces but it just goes to show that every writer hits a wall in the middle of a fast writing adventure. Like in the previous predicament, you have a few options here: You can step away for a while, work on another project or read a magazine article, get on your social media, whatever. You can also choose to reread your piece and see if it refreshes your memory of where you left off. Or maybe rereading it, you’ve decided on a different organization or where to insert another paragraph. Change up the structure and see what it does to your blog, you’d be surprised what a clever switch up could do.

Finally, if you’re still stumped or there is something about your writing that you feel I haven’t covered there are multiple writer’s block webpages you can visit. Three of my favorite websites to visit are:

http://boostblogtraffic.com/writers-block/

http://www.wikihow.com/Get-Over-Writer’s-Block

http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/guide-to-literary-agents/7-ways-to-overcome-writers-block

I hope that with my advice and the extra help from these sites, all of you will be more equipped and confident in writing your future blog posts!

4 thoughts on “How to Handle Writer’s Block

  1. Destiny,

    I have experienced writer’s block many times, yet for some reason I’ve never thought to look up tips to unblock it. Usually, I just step away from my work for awhile, but sometimes I have a limited amount of time. Your tips were really helpful. I will definitely use some of the websites you provided next time I experience writer’s block! Thanks!

    Becca

    Like

  2. Hey Destiny,
    I really loved your advice in this blog post. I experience writer’s block all the time and it is always hard to overcome. Usually, I try to take my mind off the assignment by doing something else, like you suggested. I try to stay away from social media because I somehow end up even more reluctant to write than before.

    Last semester, my teacher gave me advice for writer’s block. She said to start a junk page where you write everything you are thinking down and then take your ideas from that. She said to just start writing something to get your ideas flowing. This has actually worked me on several occasions. Maybe this idea could help some people too!

    Myah

    Like

  3. Destiny,

    I think that your post was a great way to start off our class blog! I know writer’s block is something I struggle with constantly, especially under the pressure of an approaching deadline. Google can be a great resource although I never thought to use it to find inspiration. After finding an idea or interesting piece of information, I think doing a stream of consciousness writing exercise might be helpful in generating a direction. Thanks for the tip!

    Emily

    Like

  4. Hey Destiny!

    Thanks for the advice. This is something I ALWAYS run into when I begin to write things as open ended as these blog post assignments. Having many options cripples me to the point that I cannot even make my own sandwich at Subway anymore. I really like the idea of using multiple small points to finish an assignment. I am a rather concise writer so I frequently feel that my ideas are finished after a few paragraphs. These tips will definitely be useful in the future.

    Thanks!
    Rachel

    Like

Leave a Reply

