Pros & Cons of WordPress

WordPress is designed to offer aspiring writers a chance to display their work in an easy and effective way. While the uses of WordPress vary from personal blogs to specific topic blogs, many also use it to advertise their writing hoping to transition it into a professional setting. Considering creating a site is free and there are already pre-designed templates to choose from, WordPress takes the painstaking task of building a website out of your hands and gives a writer an organized space to catalog their work. WordPress then works with other social media platforms to spread your writing and network with other WordPress users. I know that I was able to secure my current internship by using my WordPress blog as a resume for all my writing.

WordPress contributes to an interactive experiences about which you can spread your work around the world, as well as track your global reach. It utilizes widgets to bring together platforms like Twitter and Facebook so you can spread your stories as well as contribute to your brand on those sites.

Screen Shot 2015-03-19 at 6.16.37 PM

dkonpittsburghsports.com

If done effectively like Pittsburgh sports journalist Dejan Kovacevic does on his personally run website, then it can form a symbiotic relationship between all platforms that increases the popularity of you as a writer. WordPress has it’s own social networking services that allows users to follow the blogs of other uses. This shows that while WordPress makes their primary focus a space for content creation, they put almost an equal emphasis on networking. Through the connections made on the site, an opportunity could present itself that takes your personal writing into the professional setting.

WordPress also makes it very simple to see the reach your writing has with it’s detailed statistics. Essentially a simplified version of Google analytics that contributes to its user friendly approach, users can see how many and from what part of the world people are visiting your work. Most importantly, they keep track on which posts people are visiting the most.

Screen Shot 2015-03-19 at 6.35.59 PM

contentbycharles.com

This is crucial because it can determine what elements of your writing are grabbing the most attention. In this regard, the statistics that WordPress offers can help writers make the craft choices that expand their audience. It also shows you which other social media platforms brought people to your site. This helps the user know which sites are more effective in advertising your work and can then put more emphasis on networking using that platform.

However, on the downside WordPress is so easy to use and keep records of your viewership that it is becoming overwhelmed with massive amounts of content. According to their stats, WordPress users post 61.6 million new things each month. Which begs the question of how is it possible to stand out among all this content that is constantly piling up on itself? Although keywords help narrow the focus of your blogs a little bit, the simply is too much to sift through for users to expand to their desired audience. People maintaining personal blogs mostly have to rely on their inner networks of friends and family to view posts and spread the word. Although the huge database of content on WordPress challenges users to think creatively of ways to attract new people and gear writing to the interest of your desired audience, there really is only so far one can go.

Making it even harder is that many major publications and companies are starting to use WordPress. Well respected works like the New Yorker have made this transition because of its easy to manipulate design. Unfortunately for the individual blogger, this has skewed the marketplace of viewers towards these companies. Personal users cannot offer the credibility that the New Yorker can claim. Individuals using WordPress as a way to display their professional writing now have to unfairly compete with both world-recognized publications and 60 million other posts. While it still is effective in creating a simple space to catalog your work for future use like showing potential employers, sometimes on WordPress I get the feeling that I’m only writing to myself.

5 thoughts on “Pros & Cons of WordPress

  1. I have such a love/hate relationship with WordPress. I only started using it last year after my senior seminar required it, so I’m still just getting familiar with the functionality of the site. I think that the built-in analytics and the ability to connect your blog posts to other social media platforms are the best features of the site. My biggest issue with using WordPress has always been how difficult it is to control and design the layout (though this may be a personal problem and may not be difficult for everyone).

    The advent of major, reputable news publications utilizing WordPress for their own websites is surprising to me. But this problem–feeling drowned out by more popular accounts–is simply one that all social media platforms face. Do you have any suggestions for how to drown out the influence of other users, or drive more accounts to visit your blog?

    Lastly, I think my biggest concern with WordPress is simply trying to establish a personality and voice on my blog and trying to write about something relevant.

    Like

  2. Wow, I never thought of using WordPress to catalog my own work. I’ve only used the site for class purposes, but this really is a great device for organizing and displaying your personal writing. What do you write about on your personal WordPress blog? I’d be interested to hear more your current internship, and how your blog helped you to obtain the position. I’m in the process of developing a portfolio for after graduation, and I’m having difficulty deciding what pieces best reflect my professional writing abilities.

    Like

    • Yeah so I write exclusively about soccer on my personal WordPress blog. When I was applying for my internship with the Pittsburgh Riverhounds, which is the city’s professional soccer team, my employer want to see examples of my writing. So instead of having to compile a bunch of my stories, I just sent him the link to my blog. Seem to work pretty well.

      Like

  3. I would also like to hear more about how you have used your personal blog to secure your internship. I also have a personal blog but I currently do not talk about related information about my personal career aspirations. I have never even considered networking through WordPress and I would be eager to hear more about this. Does it take place mostly through commenting? Or is it mainly just used as a portfolio reference?

    I am also a contributing writer for Elite Daily, an online journal platform that uses WordPress so I have been able to familiarize myself that way. Using an already established journal, such as Elite Daily, has made it easier to share the content I post across platforms.

    Like

  4. I really enjoyed this blog post because it was able to be a continuation on the discussions we have had in class. From the networking benefits social media has to offer, to the importance of expressing out individual voice. I know for myelf, preparing for a future career in professional writing, I will need to be able to convey to many audiences as well as keep them intrigued in your content. This is the first time I have ever used WordPress in a class and I’m finding it very interesting how we use these weekly blog posts as a way for us to further the class discussion but with our own writing. This was a good read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

