Oh No You Didn’t!

For a while now, people have been overly consumed with their social media pages. They are so overly consumed with their social media profiles, that they worry about multiple things like, how many followers do they have, what people are following them, what people unfollowed them and more. About five years ago, the first website and app were created to check everything that had to deal with your audience and the engagement on your social media pages. Now although I can’t remember exactly what website and app that was created first, the world was in a frenzy when those two tools were developed. The idea of being about to see the people who are or were invested in your page was fascinating to most people. Now, all of the unfollower apps and websites that are out there now are similar to Blanchard’s idea of measurement within social media. Blanchard discusses how measuring your social media can be obsessive at times but can also be good depending on what you are measuring your social media for.

Screen Shot 2017-03-01 at 11.04.11 AM.png

From personal experience, I believe that downloading these unfollower apps don’t do anything but cause problems. For example – when I was in high school, I downloaded an unfollower app for Instagram. At the time, I truly did think it was cool – but the more and more I looked at it, the more and more it made me upset and then I started to find the apps and websites creepy. I could see who unfollowed me, who followed me, who liked my posts, who didn’t like my posts, who followed me, but never liked anything at all, and more. Now being as though I was in high school, and the world is full of petty females – this stuff was important to me at. But all these tools did was cause drama when I look back. Girls were always arguing with girls about why people unfollowed them or girls would talk about the people seen were creeping on their pages and more. It was truly a big mess. And thinking back on it, measuring your social media really does nothing for you unless you are running a business. I say this because when you think about social media, one must realize that all of this trivial stuff shouldn’t matter but your influence that you have through your pages does. These apps made the world focus on the things that did not matter. These apps made people think that popularity was important. And these apps made people alter themselves and what they put on their pages so that their lives could seem more alluring to the world. It doesn’t matter how many followers you have on your personal page and who cares about who followed or unfollowed you. Those are not the things that matter most in the world.

you-unfollowed-me

Now, on the contrary these tools, are good for business purposes. I say this especially if you are building a new brand. You want to be able to see who supports you and who doesn’t. You also want to find ways to build up your followers so that your page can be shared to other. There are many new up and coming businesses that use these tools to figure out how to measure their audience and build their brand and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. Using these apps for good / business purposes will always be good in my opinion. Measure what matters most. Don’t measure what isn’t going to benefit you personally in the long run.

 

Works Cited

Blanchard, Oliver. Social Media R01: Managing and Measuring Social Media Efforts in Your Organization. Pearson Education. 2011.

“Numbers Don’t Matter, Influence Does”. GaryVaynerchuk, 16 April. 2016, https://www.garyvaynerchuk.com/numbers-dont-matter-influence-does/

3 thoughts on “Oh No You Didn’t!

  1. I found your post to be very funny and accurate. A few weeks ago my 17 year old cousin was visiting me and she is completely Instagram obsessed. When I asked her if she knew someone, her instinct was to look on Instagram to see their mutual followers – whereas most people my age would instinctively look at Facebook to see mutual friends. When we were together one night, she mentioned to me that a few people must have unfollowed her because she noticed that she had 5 less followers than the day before! After that, I was questioning her about Instagram norms among her and her friends because I truly felt as though I was so far removed from her Instagram obsessed generation.

    Like

  2. It’s funny to think about the difference in meanings of metrics when social media is applied for business vs. personal use. Along the same lines as your anecdote, I remember when Twitter first became popular and the number of “followers” you had truly seemed to matter.Peers told me that I was “uncool” if the number of people following me wasn’t higher than the number of people I followed. In business terms, this means almost nothing. In fact, companies are often urged to follow as many users as possible when first joining social media in order to get eyes on their profiles.
    Furthermore, friendships have died because of Twitter unfollows – I’ve seen in happen. But in the professional world, unfollows are not taken personally. Losing followers may actually be a helpful sign that can indicate when your brand needs refreshing before lost followers turn into lost sales later down the road. As you pointed out, measuring number of friends, followers, likes, retweets, favorites, and so on is ultimately useless for the average social media user. Favorites on a tweet don’t make most individuals any more successful or happy l in life in the long run. For a business however, these favorites may be converted into sales, and are thus extremely important to monitor. Tracking what works and what doesn’t among your brand’s community can make the difference between a profitable or unprofitable year. When favorites turn into dollar signs, metrics matter.

    Like

  3. It’s interesting how these tools could be used for companies but instead they seem to be marketed towards people who use social media for their own personal use. I recall these tools being used in high school too, and when I was younger I would always use a site to figure out who unfollowed me on Twitter. If I saw that anyone unfollowed me, I would unfollow them back no matter what, which completely defeats the purpose of social media altogether. The point is to see the thoughts of others and keep up with the people/topics you care about, not simply generate a large following of people who follow you just because you follow them back. However, companies could use tools like this to see if their unfollows came after a specific post, and what kind of content is attracting/pushing away their followers…but instead, these tools seem more for petty uses as you mentioned.

    Like

Leave a Reply

