Yep, Its More LinkedIn Tips! Hooray!

Ok, I am just going to admit it,  I don’t understand LinkedIn. I mean, I understand the process and the purpose of the site. After class on Tuesday, I definitely understand the “how to” more fully than I did before. However, even after I read that advice I was still unbelievably confused.

I had some questions. Like, How do I make a catching headline? What do I write in a summary and how do I make it good? Should I add my study abroad information in my education? What do I even write under each place I worked for? How do you do any of this from the voice of a student?

During class, in the midst of my confusion, I created a mundane, typical, and overall, just boring profile. It got me thinking: Will this profile really get me hired? Because I, as we all do, will need a job eventually.

aZP5zon_700b_v1

http://9gag.com/gag/aZP5zon/when-asked-why-i-want-this-job-during-a-job-interview

I began to really question: How do I make my profile even stand out?

Well, I have searched and found these tips and facts for anyone else who is feeling the mediocrity of their LinkedIn profile. Remember, these are in addition to the tips we received during class.

  • Break down the barriers in finding your profile.
    • According to 7 tips to supercharge your academic LinkedIn profile, you should change your privacy settings to only allow people to see what you want them to see.
      • Some posts are just not for everyone.
    • Make sure your profile is set to public so that everyone looking for you can find you.
      • (Go to Privacy Settings —-> Edit your public profile)
  •  The headline is the first thing people see. Make it good.
    •  Here comes one of the questions I had: How do you make a good headline as a student? 7 tips to supercharge your academic LinkedIn profile has a great steps toward doing just that:
    • 1. Find the right words to describe yourself
      • They suggest brainstorming a few keywords about yourself and about the job/position you are targeting. The reader should know right away what you are an expert in.
        • This is example they give: “Arianna C’s Headline: “Conceptual Modelling, Facilitation, Research Management, Research Networking and Matching”
      • DO NOT just use the “Name at University X” model. 
        • You know that’s just boring.
    • Be clear and to the point.
      • Do not be wordy. This can appear as if you are trying too hard.
    • Use this formula: 3 keywords and 1 value proposition
      • Take 3 keywords that you think describes yourself and then 1 value you think makes you an expert or where you stand out.
      • Example they give: “Computer scientist with a passion for undergraduate education and experience in conceptual modelling and research management.”
  • Write a grabbing summary
    • Don’t just repeat what is already on your profile. Write a narrative!
      • Provide detail about your work and why it matters.
        • I like this quote from the blog: “Make yourself a person, not just another name in a discipline.”
    • Say what you want in your career!
      • Personally, I always felt self-conscious doing this. I never thought I really had the authority but apparently being assertive really helps you stand out.
    • Include some keywords so that you will be found in a quick Google search
  • Comment (not just like) on articles specific to the industry you want to work in.
    • This will give some proof that you are passionate about your career or future career.
  • Join LinkedIn groups and ask questions to people in your industry.
    • Asking questions makes the passion you have for your career more evident
    • If an employer just so happens to be looking at the LinkedIn group at the time and they see your insightful questions, you will look so good!
  • Be specific about your education AND add study abroad information.
    • People actually do want to find out where you studied during your time in school.
    • Employers want to hear the specifics of your education!
      • Be are accurate as you possibly can.
  • Add coursework, presentations, websites, and extracurriculars you have done that are relevant.
    • According to Jess Fee, the goal is to be as detailed as possible to paint a complete picture of your professional achievements.
  • Add your GPA if it is higher than 3.3 on a 4.0 scale.
    • This goes with being as accurate and detailed about your education I mentioned before.
    • Having a high GPA will just make you look better/smarter in general.
  • Use sentences when describing your work experience.
    • That bullet style is out.
    • Employers like to see the sentence structure on your LinkedIn.
  • When in doubt, use Alumni Tool
    • This handy dandy tool is on LinkedIn’s site. It allows you to search successful graduates where you can narrow down the options by location and other good stuff. You can use this tool and try to model your LinkedIn after these people.

      This is what Alumni Tool looks like on my LinkedIn

      This is what Alumni Tool looks like on my LinkedIn

So many tips, so little time!

I’m going to leave this post with some facts I found on the Hub website:

  • Adding an industry could possibly give you 15 times more profile views
  • Member who include their skills get 13 times more profile views
  • Some (42%) employers and hiring managers view volunteer work as important as work experience
  • A summary of 40 words or more makes you more likely to turn up in a search

I also wanted to give you an update about my own profile, just in case you care.

Here is what I have so far guys. I got that headline and profile picture game going strong.

me linkedin

I also have some connections! Woohoo. I have joined groups as well, nothing of substance to really comment on as of yet. But, who knows what will happen in the future,

Anyway, good Luck everyone! Make that LinkedIn profile amazing. I hope you are this happy after you are done!

linkedin-girl

http://www.onlinecolleges.net/48-essential-linkedin-tips-your-teachers-wont-tell-you/

Sources:

http://www.thehubcomms.com/10-tips-for-making-your-linkedin-profile-stand-out/article/360029/

http://blog.impactstory.org/7-tips-to-supercharge-your-academic-linkedin-profile/

http://mashable.com/2013/08/12/linkedin-college-students/

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/10-tips-students-new-grads-linkedin-omar-garriott

4 thoughts on “Yep, Its More LinkedIn Tips! Hooray!

  1. I felt the same when working on my profile in class this past week! I’m planning to work on my LinkedIn profile more tomorrow, so these tips are great. Also, I really like the Grease picture!

    Thanks,
    Becca

    Like

  2. Wow…these tips are helpful for sure, I’m just flabbergasted at all the things I’m doing WRONG with my profile! Like you, I just made mine in class last week and was so uncomfortable and unsure with what I was doing. I felt so awkward writing a summary about myself (I think I just left it blank) and even more awkward trying to “connect” with people because I truly didn’t want them looking at my profile! I think the best tip you had here was about commenting on articles related to one’s field. That’s such a clever and simple way to make people aware of your passion and commitment to a certain industry. At the same time, I think my main problem with LinkedIn is feeling so incredibly fake. Who are we kidding, I would never seek out an advertising article and comment my thoughts on it. I don’t even do that with interests I’m passionate about. I’d feel like such a floozy trying to write some articulate and intelligent comment to impress other people. I’m a much more casual person than they type of person that LinkedIn’s default settings make me look, and I’m not totally comfortable with having such a stagnant profile acting as an online resume. These tips are definitely helpful with creating a profile, but I wish there was a list of tips on how to make your LinkedIn truly represent you, instead of making you look like a clone of millions of users.

    Like

  3. I’m really glad I was not the only one who walked away having the same feelings. I thought I was only going to have to stress over my resume, but now a LinkedIn profile. Awesome. These tips really did shine a light on some hope to improve my LinkedIn profile. I really enjoyed how in the midst of this entire conversation of adding your personality to social network profiles, you were able to add that meme to lighten the mood of the read. I thought this was a well structured and entertaining blog entry.

    Best,
    Aidan

    Like

  4. These tips are great! I always feel so overwhelmed every time I open my LinkedIn page. I’ve had a page for about a year now, but up until last week, I hadn’t updated it for about 6 months. Trying to make myself and my experiences stand out was so difficult–I ended up just walking away from it frustrated and stressed. So, instead of doing it all in one go, I’ve decided to tackle a little bit at a time over the course of a few weeks. Now I have specific guidelines for improvement to follow each time I open my LinkedIn page. Thanks for the post!

    Like

Leave a comment